Evaluation

Overall, I am rather proud of my production work. I have worked hard, put a lot of effort into my work and pleased with the amount of time and commitment I have put into this assignment. I do believe this is due to the fact that the initial idea was an aspect personal to me as explain in blog post one.

Planning and Research
I believe my planning stage was one of the most successful because I had a variety of ideas and thoroughly narrowed them down to my final idea. Although this was rather challenging, it made the whole production process a lot more in clear in terms of what I needed to do to get my point across. My survey allowed me to further understand the stereotypes giving me a clearer idea of what my frames should include. Watching documentaries, as mentioned in the research blog post, allowed me to understand how producers use television and media to further imply stereotypes of social classes and how they are portrayed in society.
My research into academic theories also made me believe that this topic is an issue because the answers gave me an insight into how people do judge and stereotype different social classes therefore I have learnt that maybe this is more of an issue I originally thought.

The Shoot
Even though I am proud of the work I have done, there is always ways for improvements and I can hold my hands up and say some of the images did not turn out the way I wanted. The working class women and both the middle class stereotypes were let down due to me relying on other people’s belongings to arrive to me and they let me down. For example, a friend of mine worked at Wilko’s and I was allowed to borrow her uniform however the day of the shoot they messaged saying they forgot their uniform at home. Therefore I had to think on the spot and come up with a different idea to portray this social class in. This let my shoot down as I think some images do not strongly represent the stereotype as much as I wanted to portray. The middle class was rather hard for me to portray because I could not find the right belongings in time for the shoot – even though I wrote out a plan of the items I needed, again some of these fell through.  This lets my shoot down.
Another aspect that let my shoot down was the fact that I was unable to book the studio at the same time I could book the camera. This resulted in me having to set up my own studio and the images would have looked at lot more professional if I had a real background and lighting. But I did the best I could.
However, what I like about my production work is the presentation I have chosen to format my work in. I think it is a nice way to set out the photos and text the way I have because it makes the portfolio act a little like a story and not just a boring simple format. This is also reflected in the title I have chosen ‘Who am I?’ as it reinforces the meaning behind the shoot.
Other than the images I previously mentioned, I believe the rest are all rather powerful in terms of projecting the stereotype they are aimed at. The items I have used I think really reflect their social class. My studies in photography I think have really helped me with this production work as I took into account the composition, the lighting, depth of field and so on to improve the result in my photography portfolio. I do believe overall that my piece of production is successful and does relate to one issue/topic we have mentioned and learnt in lectures and seminars. Even though this assignment was a rather broad one, my end result I think works well as a whole.

Reference
In terms of relevance and relating to theory, my portfolio clearly emphasises and shows the distinct difference between the social classes. This does relate and demonstrate the ‘Othering’ theory as it shows a contrast between peoples belongings and how it shows how they are different to ‘others’. The viewer may also look through my portfolio and say: “I am not like that.” or “They are different to me.” further enhancing the relevance to this theory. The Binary opposites also comes to play as again the photographs explore the divisions between social class – therefore relating to the ‘opposite’ ideology as people may say that others are different to them, EG: rich or poor.

Leave a Reply

