The Shoot

 Due to being unable to book the university studio at a time where I was able to book the camera, I decided to set up my own studio in my flat. Although this may not be ideal in terms of image quality, what it does ensure is that I will be in a safe secure environment therefore my safety and risk of losing equipment will be maintained. This consisted of a white sheet and a camera and I positioned the set near the window as I wanted natural light as I believed this would give the images are a more realistic feel. I used a Nikon D5300 as I wanted the quality to be at a high standard. Both these aspects enhanced my image quality, I feel.

Below are the contact proofs of my shoots. I have used a variety of both slanted angle and close up shots which is clearly shown throughout.

WORKING CLASS MALE

working-class-male-2working-class-male-1working-class-male-3


WORKING CLASS FEMALE

working-class-female-1working-class-female-2

LOWER CLASS MALE

lower-class-male-2lower-class-male-1

LOWER CLASS FEMALE

lower-class-female-1lower-class-female-2

UPPER CLASS MALE

UPPER CLASS FEMALE

upper-class-female-1upper-class-female-2

MIDDLE CLASS MALE

middle-class-male-1middle-class-male-2

MIDDLE CLASS FEMALE

middle-class-female-2middle-class-female

Overall I am rather happy with how the images have turned out – but I will go into detail about this in later blog posts when I have chosen my images to represent this photography portfolio. Even though I have labelled which images are stereotypically related to which social class – I think to really enhance my subject, not including this in my portfolio will allow the viewer to clearly think and judge/stereotype for themselves which images they think relate to which class. This will actually be rather interesting and I am intrigued to see how people perceive my shoot.

Leave a Reply

